Northwestern alumni post-election panel

NBC News' Peter Alexander, USA Today's Susan Page, Fox News' James Rosen and the Chicago Sun-Times' Lynn Sweet - all Medill alumni - joined POLITICO's David Chalian and NBC News' Kelly O'Donnell on an all Northwestern alumni panel at the National Press Club to talk about #Election2012.



  2. James Rosen (MSJ96) - Chief Washington Correspondent, Fox News

  3. -
  4. James Rosen, who joined FOX News Channel (FNC) in 1999, currently serves as the Chief Washington Correspondent and hosts the online show The Foxhole. His beats have included the White House and the State Department, and he has also reported from Capitol Hill, the Pentagon, the U.S. Supreme Court, and three dozen foreign countries. Rosen is the author of "The Strong Man: John Mitchell and the Secrets of Watergate," and his articles and essays have appeared in the New York Times and the Washington Post, among many other periodicals.
  5. Lynn Sweet (MSJ75) - Washington Bureau Chief/Columnist, Chicago Sun-Times

  6. -
  7. A Chicago native, Sweet earned a master's degree from Medill and received her undergraduate degree from the University of California at Berkeley after attending the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana. She was a fellow at Harvard’s Institute of Politics in the spring of 2004. Sweet was inducted into the Medill Hall of Achievement at Northwestern University in 2007. Washingtonian Magazine named Sweet one of the capital’s “50 Top Journalists” in 2009.

  8. Peter Alexander (BS98) - Correspondent, NBC News

  9. -
  10. Emmy Award-winning journalist Peter Alexander’s reports appear on NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams, Today, Dateline, MSNBC, and other NBC platforms. Alexander is also a substitute anchor for the weekend editions of NBC Nightly News and Today. Since joining the network in 2004, he has covered numerous international stories — from Iraq’s historic election in 2005 to the deadly conflict between Israel and Hezbollah, and the tsunami in Indonesia. Most recently, Peter led the network’s on-the-ground reporting of the Republican presidential race, following the GOP candidates along the trail through election day. Alexander is a recipient of the prestigious Edward R. Murrow Award.

  11. Susan Page (BS73), Washington Bureau Chief, USA Today

  12. -
  13. Susan Page writes about the White House and national politics as Washington Bureau chief for USA Today. The 2012 campaign is the ninth presidential race she has covered, and she’s interviewed the past eight presidents (three of them after they left office). She has reported from five continents and dozens of countries, and her awards include every journalism prize given specifically for coverage of the White House. 

  14. David Chalian (C95) - Vice President for Video Programming at POLITICO