2015 Congress of Delegates: Day Three

The Congress of Delegates is the Academy’s policy-making body. During the 2 1/2-day meeting, the Congress' agenda includes addresses from AAFP officers and commissions, resolutions, candidate forums and election of leaders.


  1. Meet Your New Leaders

  2. From a field of five, the Congress elected three family physicians for the AAFP Board of Directors. John Bender, M.D., M.B.A., of Fort Collins, Colo.; Gary LeRoy, M.D., of Dayton, Ohio; and Carl OIden, M.D., of Yakima, Wash., will serve three-year terms. Olden had previously been elected to serve a one-year term, filling a vacated seat.
  3. Alan Schwartzstein, M.D., of Oregon, Wis., was elected vice speaker. He succeeds Javette Orgain, M.D., M.P.H., who was named speaker on Tuesday.
  4. Delegates had a tough choice to make for president-elect. The candidates were speaker John Meigs, M.D., of Centreville, Ala., and directors Carlos Gonzales, M.D., of Tucson, Ariz., and Lloyd Van Winkle, M.D., of Castroville, Texas. The first vote wasn't decisive.