General election 2017: Live coverage of Manchester's results as they happen

It's the day of reckoning. Tonight is the climax of one of the most extraordinary general election campaigns ever. Join the Wythenshawe Reporter from about 11pm for what could be a rollercoaster journey.


  1. Results declared in Manchester.
  2. Mike Kane holds Wythenshawe for Labour, polling 28,525 votes. The result was announced by Lord Mayor and Wythenshawe councillor, Eddy Newman. Mr Kane paid tribute to the Mayor for his leadership in the aftermath of the terror attack in the city and praised emergency services. He said Prime Minister Theresa May had made a major miscalculation believing she could achieve a hard Brexit.
  3. He said: "It has been a great privilege to represent Wythenshawe and it is a great privilege to serve again."
  4. Both Jeff Smith who held Withington and Lucy Powell who held Manchester Central with more than 38,000 votes said their results were "humbling".
  5. Graham Stringer held Blackley and Broughton for Labour.
  6. And there will be a new Labour MP in Parliament after former Manchester Lord Mayor, Afzal Khan held the seat with 35,085 votes. Defeated reality TV star George Galloway, who hoped to stage a political comeback, did a Theresa May and didn't stick around for the result. He polled 2650 votes.
  7. Afzal Khan paid tribute to Gerald Kauffman, the veteran Gorton MP who died earlier this year, calling him a "tireless campaigner for Manchester".
  8. 02.06 Meanwhile, back in Manchester, Labour party workers and candidates looking justifiably smug. We're hearing the first result decalarations are not too far away. Turnouts will be announced as part of the final decalaration not separately.